Skip to Content

Green Chakra Meaning – The Heart Chakra Color Explained

Discover the green chakra meaning and how the fourth chakra, also known as the heart chakra, is related to the meaning of the color green.

Green chakra meaning

According to Tantrism, green chakra, also known as Anahata or the heart chakra, is the fourth chakra out of the seven primary chakras that align with the spinal cord.

The heart chakra, located at the center of the spine at the heart level, is the balance point of all the other chakras and a person’s center for compassion, empathy, forgiveness, and love. The word “Anahata” means “unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten.”

This article aims to educate you on all there is to know about Anahata, including the heart chakra meaning, its relationship to the color green, and the psychological relationship between the chakra color and specific attributes.

At the end of this article, you will have attained sufficient knowledge regarding the Anahata. Mastery of this knowledge is crucial as it helps you to:

  • Develop healthy relationships
  • Develop a strong heart
  • Healthy circulation
  • Become empathetic
  • See and sense connections
  • Develop a sense of peace and serenity
  • Become more altruistic

Discover the meaning of all the seven chakra colors and balance your energies.

Let love in by opening the heart chakra.

  • Sanskrit name: Anahata
  • Color: Green
  • Seed mantra: Yam
  • Location: Heart
  • Element: Air
  • Function: Self-acceptance, openness
  • Associated gemstones: Jade, Emerald, Jadeite, Green Calcite.
Chakra green meaning silhouette

Heart Chakra

The green chakra is located in the center of the spine, in the heart region, affecting the thymus gland, lungs, shoulders, upper back, heart, and circulatory system.

It is represented by an equal amount of yellow and blue, giving it the color green. Beyond that, the Anahata guides the feelings of trust, generosity, and gratitude in a person. It also governs an individual’s sense of peace and a person’s openness to change.

These feelings are all rooted in the meaning of the colors, in this case, green, of course.

The color green represents earth, life, love, change, and transformation, and the green chakra is unique because of its position in the body.

Namely, it is the middle of the vertebral column and the center of the seven primary chakras, making it a gathering point for all the other chakras. It is also noteworthy that the Anahata is feminine in its representation.

Mastery of the heart chakra leads to balance, fearlessness, healthy boundaries, depth in relationships with others, greater emotional maturity, and self-love.

Open and Balanced Chakra

An open and balanced green chakra leads to a great sense of peace, creating one’s own happiness rather than looking to an external source.

Creating one’s own happiness means being independent, but the Anahata is also the bedrock of unconditional love and kindness.

It also helps an individual to develop a greater connection with other people, nature, and the world around them in general. The effects that an open and balanced green chakra has on the body include:

  • Healthy thyroid gland
  • A strong heart
  • Increased upper body strength
  • Clear communication
  • Listening ability
  • Sensitivity to other people’s feelings
  • Intuition
  • A sense of purity
  • An increase in spiritual energy
  • Living in truth
Green chakra meaning infographic
Green chakra meaning infographic

Overactive Chakra

An overactive chakra means the flow of too much energy or the overstimulation of a particular chakra.

Due to its direct role in maintaining balance, purity, and living a generally healthy life, an overactive green chakra may lead to a series of physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual problems such as:

  • Heart problems
  • Experiencing painful sensations in the upper body
  • Jealousy
  • Being irritable
  • Lack of compassion
  • Narcissistic
  • Lack of boundaries 
  • Overwhelming grief

Underactive Heart Chakra

An underactive or blocked Anahata harms the body’s physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual well-being. A blocked heart chakra leads to the inability to connect with one’s self and the world around.

Also, a blocked green chakra makes it very difficult for people to trust others. This holds one back from connecting with the world and fully experiencing it. Stress and emotional pain, especially from bad memories, could cause the blockage of the Anahata.

Symptoms of an underactive heart chakra include:

  • Low self-esteem
  • Co-dependency
  • Cardiovascular issues
  • Lung problems
  • Immunological problems
  • Loneliness and isolation
  • Social anxiety
Green chakra meaning, the fourth chakra, is called Anahata in Sanskrit

How to Balance Green Chakra

The green chakra may become unbalanced as a result of emotional and mental health issues.

It could also arise from the blockage of the first three chakras. Therefore, the smooth running of the other chakras will increase the efficiency of the heart chakra.

The first step to balancing the Anahata is to ensure that all the other chakras are open and functioning correctly, especially the root chakra, the sacral chakra, and the solar plexus chakra—these are the physical chakras.

By incorporating the color green into your daily life and activities, you can restore balance to the Anahata.

This can be achieved by surrounding yourself with green things, like wearing green clothing, painting your room green, eating green foods like green tea, cucumber, melons, limes, green apples, and mint kale, and wearing green gemstones, such as green calcite, emerald, rose quartz, amazonite, malachite, and peridot.

Furthermore, in some cases, regular exercise and yoga can help. In particular, yoga poses like the bow pose, camel pose, and chest openers are required to restore balance to the Anahata.

Breathing exercises have also been known to balance the Anahata, especially since the chakra’s element is the air element.

Aromatherapy is another method that can restore balance to the Anahata. Essential oils like bergamot, jasmine, geranium, lavender, cypress, or rose have proven effective in this case.

Mantras and affirmations are helpful to restore balance, confidence and improve an individual’s love for himself and his environment. By constantly repeating positive affirmations to one’s self, progress will be made.

Some common, effective affirmations for the Anahata would be:

  • My truth is love
  • I am thankful and joyful to be me
  • I have boundaries that protect me
  • I embrace change and make the best of my future
  • I forgive myself and others
  • I am open to giving and receiving love
  • I live with gratitude and generosity
  • I honor the guiding of my heart
  • I am blessed with abundance
  • My heart is free from past hurt
  • I choose joy
  • I can give and share without expecting anything in return
  • It is safe for me to be in a loving relationship

Learn how you can balance your red chakra, orange chakra, yellow chakra, blue chakra, indigo chakra, and purple chakra.

Wrapping Up on The Green Chakra

Having a balanced green chakra is vital in order to maintain a healthy mind, body, and healthy relationships. So make sure to follow the advice above to balance your energies and reach a healthy equilibrium in life.

Did you enjoy this article about the green chakra meaning? Then share it with a friend who might enjoy the read too.


Sunday 26th of December 2021

Thank you this is informative.


Thursday 23rd of December 2021

I am learning about chakara